Harmonic Space 2020: James Tenney

a festival of music and visuals by and connected to James Tenney featuring just intonation and other microtonal tuning systems
performed by the Harmonic Space Orchestra and guests
at KINDL ‑ Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst and KM28 (Berlin)

16–24 October, 2020

Festival Program
Friday, October 16  »
KINDL – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst

Music by James Tenney
performed by the Harmonic Space Orchestra and guests
Visuals by Mareike Yin-Yee Lee and Catalina Fernandez


Visuals at KM28 October 17–24 :
Postal Pieces scores by James Tenney and
poster series of Tenney associates conceived by Mareike Yin-Yee Lee

Saturday, October 17  »

Music by John Cage, Guillaume de Machaut, Philippe de Vitry, Marc Sabat,
Wolfgang von Schweinitz, James Tenney, and Charles Ives
performed by the Harmonic Space Orchestra
joined virtually by Helge Slaatto (violin) and Frank Reinecke (double bass)

Monday, October 19  »

Music by James Tenney, Fredrik Rasten, Marc Sabat, and Catherine Lamb
performed by the Harmonic Space Orchestra

Wednesday, October 21  »

Music by Thomas Nicholson, Chiyoko Szlavnics, and James Tenney
performed by the Harmonic Space Orchestra and guests

Friday, October 23  »

Music by Wolfgang von Schweinitzincluding a pre-concert lecture-demonstration
with Helge Slaatto (violin) and Frank Reinecke (double bass)

This concert has been postponed.

Saturday, October 24  »

Music by M.O. Abbott, Catherine Lamb, Marc Sabat, and James Tenney
performed by the Harmonic Space Orchestra

.  .  .  .  .

The Harmonic Space Orchestra : M.O. Abbott (trombone, continuum fingerboard), Johnny Chang (violin, viola), Sam Dunscombe (clarinets), Judith Hamann (cello), Jonathan Heilbron (double bass), Catherine Lamb (viola), Rebecca Lane (flutes, tenor recorder), Thomas Nicholson (viola, microtonal piano, continuum fingerboard, conducting), Michiko Ogawa (clarinets), Lucy Railton (cello), Fredrik Rasten (guitar), Marc Sabat (violin, conducting), Chiyoko Szlavnics (soprano saxophone)

with Duo Slaatto Reinecke : Helge Slaatto (violin), Frank Reinecke (double bass)

and guests : Antonis Anissegos (microtonal piano), Matthew Conley (trumpet), Marta Garcia Gomez (harp), Philipp Gerschlauer (alto saxophone), Joseph Houston (microtonal piano, secondary rainbow synthesizer), Stine Janvin (voice), Hilary Jeffery (trombone), Elena Margarita Kakaliagou (horn), Hannes Lingens (percussion), Xavier Lopez (secondary rainbow synthesizer), Tomoko Ono (microtonal piano, continuum fingerboard), Sam Stoll (horn)

featuring visual installations by Mareike Yin-Yee Lee and light design by Catalina Fernandez

Festival conceived by Catherine Lamb, Mareike Yin‑Yee Lee, Marc Sabat, and Chiyoko Szlavnics
Program curated by Marc Sabat and KM28